Sunday, March 4, 2012

Hail and Hosanas

I know I'm a little late reporting this but this duo ranks among my pantheon of favorite authors.

The New England Science Fiction Association named writers Sharon Lee & Steve Miller as the joint recipients of the 2012 Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction, also called the Skylark Award. The award was presented at Boskone, held at the Boston Westin Waterfront, February 17-19 2012.
The Skylark is given to “some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late ‘Doc’ Smith well-loved by those who knew him.”
If your not familiar with Lee and Miller they are the creators of the Liaden Universe of books, some of which are rip roaring space opera (IMHO)
Sharon Lee Blogs here:
Their homepage:
For more information and a list of past recipients, see the NESFA website.

No comments:

Post a Comment